High Ankle Sprain with possible surgical future…

So it turns out I not only injured my ankle pretty seriously, but also pretty uniquely. I twisted it stepping off a curb while running which I didn’t see, and ended up sobbing in the middle of the road. It was a traumatic running evening. It seemed like it hurt more than it should, and I had some suspicious pain at the outside of my knee as well. I got an Xray, and a cast, and was sent off from the ER.

So Tuesday I went to my Sports Med doctor. She had seen me before, and even for this ankle. It had been unstable, and was causing a nerve to be pinched in the outside of my knee, but didn’t want to do an operation because the nerve was too inflamed. She remembered me, appreciated the records I brought her, and got right too it. No closed cast, no complete immobilisation, and physio starting this week. I had physio yesterday, and MRI today, and a second consultation with her tomorrow. She believes I not only damaged the lateral ligaments which typically get damaged in a twisted ankle, but that I tore the ligaments connecting the tibia to the fibula. Google tells me this is a high ankle sprain, and it is not good. It is also probably why it is not that swollen.

I find out tomorrow my prognosis :-(. Looks like the only adventures I will be going on is to physio and back for the next few weeks.

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in The Ankle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

