First run since September!

photo 2

Pretty happy with my consistency, and how easy it was feeling to breathe!

Unfortunately no much sidewalk to run on, but I went for it anyway

Unfortunately no much sidewalk to run on, but I went for it anyway

In September I ran my first half marathon. I was untrained, unprepared and pretty miserable the entire way. I finished though, with a non-horrendous time of 2:37. I also wasn’t injured. But apparently, I have asthma.

I knew I had some issues during pollen season, and would get a bit wheezy around a ton of rabbits, but usually I don’t struggle to breathe, to the best of my knowledge. In april, I had a viral infection and the first time I went running after that put me on my ass, I couldn’t finish sentences. Probably should have gone to the doc then, but I got there in the end…

Five months later as I straggled across the end of the half marathon, something was wrong. I was wiped, exhausted all the time, cold. I also had a cough of a 90 year old chain smoker. I would eventually go to the doctor, be told I had bronchitis, and end up back again the next week after turning blue. Now with two different puffers, some wicked nose spray, and a plan to chart my lung capacity I was off.

This was six weeks ago, more or less. Now I am ramping down my asthma meds, and introducing some zone 1 and 2 exercise again. I go for hour long walks most days, depending on the number of hours I spend on a train, and last night was my first run. I slightly overreached in terms of %HR, but it felt solid, smooth and most of all, effortless. I am going to keep cruising slowly along and eventually, I know, I will get back to where I was and then I will sail on by!

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

