Cool shout out from the Universe – small things matter!`

So I (may be) am looking for a post PhD job. It’s horrid, don’t do it. As shitty as your PhD seems stay in that warm sticky with lab drama and supervisor woes cocoon forever. Well. Not. But still.

So sometimes the grad school organizes company visits. And I went on one of those in September, pre-Madagascar, and it was awesome! We had the CEO all afternoon, got an inside look at the workings of the board, and a detailed overview of how they started and where they went. Seemed like a very cool space, and they work with affinity molecules like me. Interesting. I asked a question, it was a notable one, and sparked quite a discussion, chatted with them on the way out and thanked them for their time.

Post-madagascar, last week actually, I dusted off an old classic from a networking event I had attended several years ago ‘the thank you card’. These guys were cool, but they were also busy and important and they gave us a LOT of their time. Plus they offered to get together for informal chat sessions on career related topics, and I had not taken a photo of this screen with their contacts. Voila, heart felt and personal thank you card plus business card in the mail. I am feeling pretty pumped, connections make things happen.

So today, I was feeling pretty bummed. This whole newly single thing can kind of suck when you are stressed, and suddenly fall ill with ebola (aka a cold or flu). I decided spur of the moment to stop into a grocery store I don’t normally go to, to grab something German Boy asked for, and was waiting in line when I realized the guy behind me only had two items. So, true Canadian style, I turn around to offer him ahead of me, and do a double take.

It was the Thank You Card CEO. No joke.

I did a double take, and he kind of smiled, he is basically 7 feet tall so I guess he gets that a lot, but then he realized he recognized me as well and we did the re-introduction thing. He had recently recieved my card, and really appreciated it, and was impressed. I asked if he had time for a coffee and a chat, and he said well definitely, but definitely not this week I am just swamped, how about next week. As if me waiting one more week to have a career chat coffee with the CEO of this really cool company was, you know, unreasonable. I said, definitely, look you have my contacts, simply let me know when you are free (I hope he does, no email on a saturday = bonus point CEO), and we can find a time and day.

I bounced out of that store on cloud nine. The best part being, that in two weeks I (may) have already confirmed the details on a (super awesome amazing) post doc with a professor who is really making sure of his decisions (2@#!@#$%$#EWDE#$!).

Thanks universe, I will DEFINITELY make sure to keep saying thanks to people. Not because it helps me. But because it is a genuinely cool thing to do. And the universe is cool with that.

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Training and randoms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

