SOLA weekend means anyone who is anyone in Zurich is talking running!

Some of you guys may remember one of my goals was a specific time for my track in Sola, namely 25 minutes for a 3.86 km with 60hm track of a relay race.

 

Well, stress levels were pretty high over the past few weeks with the big meeting that I had on Friday, and I pretty much over trained myself. Which sucks. Because I seriously mock people who overtrain themselves into an injury because they have set objective goals and they are willing to injure themselves. Nothing got injured, and to be fair, my crappy joints have eough going on as it is, but I had sore crampy calves, rising resting heart rate, and some fairly impressive high blood pressure. All hallmark signs of over training. I took it easy, have done more Zone 1 workouts and less Zone 2, stopped training when anything hurts to the touch, other than my knee which literally always hurts anyway no matter what I do, and stopped stressing about SOLA. Its a relay race. I may not make my goal time, but if I don’t, I’m still going to be proud of myself for training responsibly and intelligently, with lots of respecting my bodys messages.

Anyway, what the hell is this thing anyway? Well, SOLA is a relay race with 14 people per team. We travel 120km in total together around the almost entire kanton (province or state) of Zurich basically dominating the whole city, because wait for it, this thing has about 13,000 people participating. Maybe some of you guys have run the Boston marathon, or the NYC marathon, but this is a pretty big number of people. Honestly, I think there are even more volunteers who keep this whole thing running smoothly. They transfer your clothes from your start to your end, they set up markers and flags, aid stations and water stations, they stop traffic and stop you for train tracks. They also take a picture of each, and every, single, person, and post them online within two days. That’s right. At the end of your track of course. They also rank everyone individually based on time, and teams based on team, for each track. Bad. Ass.

Mine is the first track, 7:30am and if I sleep in (this happened to a person I know who shall remain nameless, but no, not German Boy), it is the shortest, and it is only for girls. It also ends within 1 km of my house: convinient. Its mostly uphill which is unfortunate, but not so uphill that it isn’t manageable. I am a little anxious about a real start, we are in two groups of 450 and that is an awful lot of legs to avoid tripping over but I am sure it will all go fine. I am the carrier of the magical wrist band, and this year we have real bib chips on our numbers which is even better than the last time I did it where we had to drop it in a box. I know the guy I am handing it over to, and they sort us out by bib number, but still, I will have to find him amongst 450 other anxious jumping bobbing runners. The whole race takes the whole day and finishes around 5:30. BBQ’s are virtually required, and each team will have their own, I have been invited to five, because, literally, everyone does this.

Everyone. My lab has a team. German boys lab has a team. He is on a team of his friends. I am on a team from the Alpine Club (ulp, so fast!), everyone is talking times, tracks, lengths, goal times, split times, socks and shoes. It is so cool and just hilarious. Most people don’t usually run, its definitely a fun run, some people are pros and whip by in half the time of others. German Boy has a goal of 55 minutes for 11km uphil, which is basically as fast as I bike, though he was training for 13 under an hour and only realized his track was shorter recently.

I have my number, I have my safety pins, my bag tags, and my super cool 20% discount card. I am anxious and nervous and excited, and honestly a little glad it will be over soon because the pressure to preform for my team is a lot, I am so unused to team sports! Stay tuned for updates Saturday for how this thing turns out~!

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Training and randoms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

