New stuff… weeeeee….

Down vest, C.A.M.P., 6 set of express' from Grivel, and heavy weight Icebreaker top.

Down vest, C.A.M.P., 6 set of express’ from Grivel, and heavy weight Icebreaker top.

One of my favorite activities to do while bored and spending my time training dedicatedly (up to 1o hours a week bammm), with no fun adventures because of work or weather: SHOPPING.

This was a special case, I did need a set of express’s for the now cancelled Easter climbing trip, so I was ready to be looking around anyway. Our sports association at the school has connections with a lot of companies, and twice a year organizes a ‘yard sale’ if you will, this week saw the ‘summer boerse’ happen. I was lucky enough to swing by one hour after they opened and snagged a few choice finds.

The first: an Icebreaker tech top. I generally see all money spent on their products as money well spent. I have a few IceBreaker base layers, and a really snazzy hot deep pink tank top, but usually their goodies are out of my price range. This one wasn’t! On sale for one third of the regular price, fits perfectly, heavy weight merino wool long sleeve for 60 francs? Definitely never a bad choice.

Next, I was seriously tempted and succumbed to a beautiful down filled vest. I have always been on the fence about puffies, they seem like overkill and are generally as expensive as my rent. They have been getting more realistic recently, I think the prices of synthetic have been knocking them down, but I caved at Christmas and got a 800 fill power down jacket from Columbia. It’s so purple, and light, and puffy, I love it so much I wear it to cheer myself up it’s amazing. I am well on my way to being a convert, and the price point on this vest was convincing. A lot of summer hikes can see rather rapid temperature swings, and a small easy to pack down layer can really come in handy. I have worn it a few times already, and do not regret collecting another fun, puffy, brightly colored new vest. It’s 700 fill power, which is pretty solid, and has a reasonable DWR layer. A self contained pocket for packing and a fluffy neck lining completes this awesome vest from C.A.M.P

The express set seems cool, alternating colors, mostly wire gates, from Grivel for a super cheap price. Now German Boy and I have a full set between us and we are set for when the weather turns around and gives us some dry and sunny weather.

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Gear! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New stuff… weeeeee….

  1. I like the vest, sweet color!

    • Thanks! I was pretty siked it wasn’t some form of pink, which seems to be one of the few colors they can make gear for women in, because hey, if we weren’t wearing pink, how would we remember we were female ;-). Can’t wait to bust it out on something more exciting than a grocery store run.

Leave a Reply

