Sports medicine doctor verdict…

Okay, I finally got to see a sports medicine doctor, after three knee surgens, two neurologists, one neurosurgen, and one actual hip surgery. The good news is everything is structurally inact and sound. Which isn’t really news, because I have had the MRI’s, but the whole picture remained elusive. She summed it up pretty effectively with a few points.

My feet are too small for my height (this is actually a medical thing). Size 6/7 or 37 for 5’7″ or 173cm. She said oh yes, that makes it tough. I am also hyper mobile in every joint. Double jointed, sure, fingers, shoulders, weird turning feet, got’m all. Then she pointed out that my foot supinates, or rolls out, which somehow turns my right knee in, and pops my hip out. She thinks that it was this way because of the hip problem, and that it was probably borderline on the point of breaking and when I tripped and twisted everything, that was it it was over the edge. I strained some things, had wicked inflammation around the peroneal nerve, and the ankle was made more unstable. Apparently the ankle could be improved with an operation, but she thinks we should wait and see if we can improve it, and recommends waiting because the peroneal nerve was way too “ticked off” to put up with any more drama in that area.

So. She says that my insoles are good for the supination, but ankle taping could help too. That the over compensation, imbalance, over stress, strain and bullshit can probably be improved, and hopefully fixed, but we need a quantitative assessment of which muscles I can actually activate, apparently not all of them. Then we are going to measure the strength in some muscles, how remains a bit unclear. But we will get a crystal clear picture of exactly how crappy my limbs function, then she will make a plan with my physio, adorable torturer Adrian, who I get to keep most likely, and then I will work with him and check back in with her regularly to actually make sure things are progressing, because if they aren’t we will have to re-evaluate. I guess I am on the verge of “regional pain syndrome”, which means I would have chronic pain for no biomechanical reason. Which would be even more balls than now. But I don’t think we are there yet, when I try to stand on my right, shitty, leg, I basically turn into a pretzel.

So, our future, dear readers,  holds weird sports medicine measurements and quantifications, a hell of a lot of really painful physio sessions, and maybe, actually curing some pain in my leg, and getting to see how badass I really will be when I am not twisting my limbs into knots and wasting all my force and energy.

And, guys, if you have joint pain, and your doctors say oh well, your MRI shows no damage so there must not be anything wrong with you, get a new doctor.

My family doctor never made me feel crazy, never doubted my pain or my frustration, never gave up on pushing me to overcome this crappy body of mine. Unless they really tell you it’s regional pain disorder, which blows, but I think can be improved with meditation maybe, there will be a cause, there are way more things which can be wrong with a knee than a torn ligament.

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Training and randoms and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sports medicine doctor verdict…

  1. Carry Porter says:

    I’d like to add if you have *any* pain and your doctors says I can’t find anything wrong with you to find a new doctor. It took me three before I finally found someone who could diagnose a particularly interesting problem I was having.

    • Totally right!

      Doctors should always give you the benefit of the doubt, it’s much more likely it’s something outside of their experience field, or something from a different location causing referred pain even.

      Bodies are complicated, but convincing someone to help you shouldn’t be part of the problem!

Leave a Reply

