Bouldering at Mimimum Bouldering

An awful lot of my new hobbies are presaged by my now likely infamous statement

‘I actually hate that, but I want to get better at it’

Maybe I am just nuts, but, in the fall that’s what I said about rock climbing and now I am addicted. So when I say I hate bouldering, I am beginning to learn that I should take it with a grain of salt. Yes, even I have to take me with a grain of salt sometimes, it’s never good to take yourself too seriously.

So I went bouldering last friday with the Spanish bouldering crew. These are some badass dude’s and dudette’s, with some big guns, some tough fingers, and some big expectations for their projects. I ended up getting there earlier then them, but really had a good session. Mimimum is a gym which just re-opened bigger and better than before, which is extremely popular. I have been a few times, and like it because while they are all pretty challenging and technical I can get up a few and that’s fairly satisfying. I managed five routes which is an all time record, and then spent the rest of my time working on my movement, my balance, my foot positions, my center of balance. By the time my friends showed up I was almost done, the skin on my hands gave out before I did.

The spanish crew warmed up and started working on some projects. Its such a funny sport, spending the whole evening working on conjoining one or two moves to get slightly closer to something! They managed more than that, but still. We were chatting a bit too, and they pointed out that they actually find the routes there quite tough but cool. It turns out that this gym uses the Fontaineblue scale, which is logical, because of us all living in Europe and all. So, I was bouldering at a 5 level for France. Tres cool. The other hall I had been bouldering in was clearly using a different scale, because I was working on the V1+, V2- scale and found it a bit depressing. Which actually isn’t depressing, I had just had the wrong scale in mind. I don’t think I put too much store in scales, it’s nice to have an estimate of your skills, and to see improvement, and it is a bit wacky to go from V1 to 5 something.

Sent a bunch of problems, watched some cool people do some cool things, was siked to learn I wasn’t as bad of a boulderer as I thought, and took some cool photos of some dynamic moves, my friends not me!

Stretch

Stretch

Image

Balance

Balance+

Strong!

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Training and randoms and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bouldering at Mimimum Bouldering

  1. Nice to see someone else hooked on bouldering, and blogging too, stick with it, At some point you will be on a route and execute the perfect rockover and slap to a sloper…at that point it will be worth it!

Leave a Reply

