Snowshoe tour on Gulmen and summer dreaming.

I am pretty much a total failure so far when it comes to skiing, so my winter adventures tend to take place on snowshoes. Awkward, clunky, slow and heavy I watch those damn ski tourers float on by like their skis magically make them grow wings. Not bitter, not at all. The highlight being I can occasionally force German Boy to forgo his wings and bro’s and come snow shoe with me.  Hah, no spite there, no none at all…  anyway,

With a forecast of crystal blue skies, a high of 15°C in the city, and rapidly disappearing snow, this weekend was tailor made for snow shoeing. We didn’t want to go to the ends of the universe, and luckily we have some quite okay destinations nearby for a day trip. Maybe not as bad ass as the Bernese Oberland, but still with some scenic views, some sunshine, and some nature.

My arch rival which always seems to turn us back with shitty weather

My arch rival which always seems to turn us back with shitty weather, Säntis and the south end of the Alpstein. Views from the summit of Gulmen.

 

Glarner Alps with Vrenesligartli, and Mürtschenstock nicely visible.

Glarner Alps with Vrenesligartli, and Mürtschenstock nicely visible.

Hung over German exhibit A

Hung over German exhibit A

Off to Amden we went, and off to summit Gulmen. At 1,800m it’s a nice trip that works up a sweat but is easily managed in a few hours round trip.

image5

Come on Jenna this is definitely the way, jeez, oh, eugh, hm, maybe, maybe the way was somewhere else. Oh well let’s go down it anyway…

It was a nice enough slog, the slope was fairly steep and the snow fairly not deep, so our rented snow shoes turned it into a bit of an adventure, on the way down we followed what looked like the path to come across an 80° slope.

I slid down on my butt, on purpose, quite entertained, and German Boy minced down swearing in his snowshoes claiming he found it good practice. It was nice to be out in the sun and the mountains again, having missed quite a few cool ski touring adventures (damn wings and badasses), and not nursing a wicked hangover I really had no complaints.

I also noticed a truly stunning mountain across the Walensee. This thing was sexy. It was a beast. It stood out from its neighbors like a Fresian stud standing beside some cows. I think I must have missed it because the train usually goes on that side of the lake, but man did I notice it this time. Mürtschenstock, clocking in at a respectable 2,441m in the Glarner Alps, with difficulty ratings varying by approach from T6 (Alpine Hiking) to D(Difficult) also varying by season. While a T6 is certainly a reasonable ambition, anything about PD+ (Slightly difficult) without a guide is a bit ambitious for German Boy and I on our own. But, I need to sift through the reports (once the website is back up) and get some idea of what might be possible where. But it looks like a nice, attainable, not unreasonably expensive nor extremely crowded ideal goal for the early season, and it is what I am going to be keeping in my head during training to keep me pushing myself!

mürtschenstock in the background behind me. Goal #1 for the summer!!!

mürtschenstock in the background behind me. Goal #1 for the summer!!!

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Hiking trip reports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

