So You Want to Be a Runner?

Really great advice and summary. The only addition I would add is that sometimes I use those expensive 100 buck tights (or yoga pants, or 300 dollar running shoes… the list goes on) as motivation and reward. I buy the new gear, and then tell myself I have to be worthy of it :-D. The new bag I mentioned last week has had me running twice in the span of 7 days, but that’s just one way I get motivated, not the cheapest, but if those shiny new tights make you run faster I’m not going to tell you otherwise :-). She’s totally right though, you certainly don’t NEED fancy gear, but it can make it more fun 🙂

Find Your "Fit"

It’s a new year, and with it I’m sure a new crop of folks interested in running. First, welcome to the realm of running and congratulations on your decision to get into the sport! It can be challenging at times, but is very rewarding – you’ll be amazed at the things you learn about yourself as you continue to develop you running skills. In order to help you get started, I thought I’d provide a few tips for beginners. This is by no means a comprehensive list of all the things you must know in order to run, but I think this list definitely encompasses some of the most important tips and tidbits of information needed to get you started on the right foot (lol, get it?).

Listen To Your Body – It’s your best friend and will tell you what you need to know to keep yourself well. If…

View original post 818 more words

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Reblogged. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

