New bag! Weeee… I am kind of a new gear whore.

Okay I haven’t done one of these in awhile, and truthfully I haven’t been buying very exciting things. This, this on the other hand is mega cool. This isn’t a review, because I haven’t taken it out yet, just more of a “nah nah nah nah nah nah my packs cooler than yours”.

photo 1This is the newest addition to the ‘Jenna really likes buying new fun toys to motivate her fitness and lessen her handicap to more fit people who don’t need super light things” stuff pile. Its the Deuter 30 + SL Guide bag, recently grabbed from an outlet store in Zurich.
It comes with many cool features, including the slightly less useful ski touring attachments, which hey, I may grow into. It has more useful gear loops on the waist belt, an attachment site for the rope under the top, a very streamlined outside for technical climbs, room and a hole for a camelbag system, and all the other good stuff they are known for. I have a bigger one, 40+10 which is really a trekking style behemouth, and had loved it. The shoulder attachment location was adjustable which gave me a really customizable fit for my back. This one doesn’t have this, but it does have their SL engineering: basically, a genius decided to measure a few women, measure a few men, and noticed they are different sizes! While I am above average for height, 5’7″ or 174, I still have a feminine shape and smaller shoulders than a man my size. This bag lets you adjust the shoulder strap length without jacking them up to the point where they cut into your neck. It also has slots for technical ice tools, and the top side straps can buckle around a pair of snowshoes, much more realistic for me. I’m looking forward to getting a lot of use out of it. Weekend mountaineering tours, climbing after work which somehow just manages to overfill my day pack, technical trips which don’t require a ton of gear. I am jazzed.

photo 2
This is the whole bag family. We had a 40+10 SL from Dueter, not sure of the model but it seems to be a trekking or backpacking version. Big, beefy, solid and dependable. We have the new guy, fitting in as a middle child, looking forward to roughing it up a bit, and we have the adorable 24 L day pack which currently mostly functions as a German homework carrier system.

Looking forward to breaking it in!

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Gear! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

