Victories of ..last.. week!

Science has been a bit frustrating, but, well, when is Science nice to anyone for awhile? And don’t we all get a little suspicious when she is?

Anyway, my nasty influenza virus has virtually given up the ghost, I may be blowing my nose a bit more often and have a small lingering cough but have been back at it since Sunday and will re-introduce cardio (coughing risk) this coming week. We had a weird schedule, so we ended up climbing on Tuesday which really just wasn’t ideal. It was super busy, I guess if you climb twice a week Tuesday and Thursday is it and it was a bummer. I was back up into the 5’s top rope, but felt like I was struggling. I also have an ongoing issue with a toenail which is annoying and painful, sigh, and i did to myself by picking at photo(1)them and cutting them too short. I think its now doomed and i will enjoy a progressively smaller and more painful nail until the whole thing comes off. Its a bummer, but i guess a sign that i really am logging more climbing hours. Another promising sign was three solid hours of climbing with limited fatigue and only getting pumped once, the second? climbing a 20m long 5a route and not having height issues. I’ve only ever climbed 3a that high because I was really having problems with the heights, but German boy put up a top rope, and it looked cool, and i just went for it. There was a tricky ceiling you had to bypass 2m from the top and I just couldn’t get around it, but I legitimately fell off twice and had a few failed moves before I called it quits. Hanging around at 18m grumbling about needing to get back onto the wall is something I couldn’t have pictured myself doing even a few months ago!

photoAnother victory is fitting in two weight sessions and pilates. I’ve been struggling to fit it all in as well as physio and climbing lately, trying to increase the number of workouts slowly enough not to burn out or get injured but this week it fit quite nicely. In the future I think I will put a rest day before climbing, maybe that’s why i felt so chunky and awkward, but i got in a solid leg and shoulder/arm/back workout. Which, by the way, was almost entirely in the free weight section which is always overly testosterone-d and intimidating.Maybe my weights were smaller than theirs, but whatevs!

Celebrating these two victories, and because I could really use one, and because hey it was on sale, i picked up a heavier functional shirt. I have a good baselayer, and some lighter functional layers but I needed a next layer. And it’s white, so I can wear it when I go climbing indoors sans heating because I always manage to get completely covered head to toe in chalk dust…

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Training and randoms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

