Who can really pull off a whole pilates class without giggling? I know I certainly can’t.

We were doing this thing today where we laid on one of the weird foam rollers running up our back along our spine. We were supposed to balance on them as we raised various limbs, or heads, or multiple limbs and heads at the same time. There was much “thumping” as people lost their balance and fell one way or another, but I am fairly sure I was the only one with the case of the unforgivable hiccups.

In other unrelated news, in between the endless apartment searching with German Boy (one a shit pile full of no joke garbage, one a gem but a bit far away and expensive), we went shopping at the place now known (in my head) as “The Place Where All My Paychecks Go”, or, the resident expert outdoor sport gear store. They are having a massive sale. We browsed, or rather I browsed and German Boy sulked, because he does not need to buy ANYTHING and I need to buy EVERYTHING. Well. Not everything. I recently bought a bottom and mid layer top, new awesome sports underwear, hochtouring pants, socks, and boots. My top layer has been with me for almost a decade, all the way from KES and my high school adventure years. But it is feeling it’s age, and there is a lot of wear accumulating esspeccialllyyy when I wear it with 16 kg packs. So I needed a new shell. And I found this one! While it may in fact actually be mustard yellow, it was 450, and I paid 130. That’s all YOU need to KNOW folks. Happy camper! Oh, and its heavier than the other, should hold up just fine under the packs.

Also, in case anyone is worried, Zurich has become the new testing ground for all things apocalyptic. Basically, at any given moment, with no notice, a wicked windstorm with sustained winds of over 125 km/hr and gusts over 150km/hr, hail stones the size of tennis balls, torrential rain, and leprechauns. So if you were worried the apocalypse was coming your way, no worries, it is busy over here in Swiss land. These hailstones were left there hours after the storm rolled through,,, third giant one in a three week period!

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who can really pull off a whole pilates class without giggling? I know I certainly can’t.

  1. YAY!!!! I love buying new stuff!!! Tell me about the athletic undies. I am thinking I needs some for running.

    • They are pretty snazzy in a very normal, boy short style, quick drying, wicking, kind of way. I had a really uncomfortable experience with an apero that was 3 hours long and at least 45 degrees c. These bad boys don’t ride up, don’t rub, don’t get sweaty, and are filled with silver nanoparticles to prevent bacterial growth, which from my educated experience (people in my lab do the same thing), it’s not BS. I went for the boyshort option for all the on the mountain/side of the road/parking lot changing situations. We spend how much on shoes, pants, sports bras, shirts, and then wear the same cotton-poly blend? Totally worthwhile purchase, but I’m definitely more excited about the new coat though. 😀

Leave a Reply

