The boots are not magic, but they do produce objects…

This is a good one. A jenna one. Trust me to the end :-D.

Got some surprise money from the magical canadian tax people, so i decided to buy some real mountain boots. I wont go into details about them, but i do love them, so just think of them as badass, leather, 800 grams a foot magic boots.
I call them magic because the first time i wore them i got no blisters. You know you have to break them in, so i thought hey, züriberg right behind me why not wander around? 3.5 km later, no blisters, and the title magic boots.

So yesterday i got a ton of results that just made no sense. No sense at all. German class made no sense either. My brain may as well have melted. With sunshine and 20 degrees in zurich and new hiking boots whats a girl to do?
Hhhikkkeee obviously.

So, 9 km, 800 m up and down and three sunscreen applications later (tank top and jeans at 1800m, should have had shorts) i thought the magic title was holding. They are heavy, and the heat had turned the groomed trails into four inches of wet snow ie wet sand hikifng, plus i kept getting lost and ending up on ski trails. So i tried and tried to hike until i got blisters but turned around and headed downhill before they appeared.
I promise by the time i got to the bottom i had found some blisters. Still. They were doing good. So i untied the tops and headed home to zurich. Two hours later i was walking home from the little old lady bus stop when i discovered a rock in my shoe. These things come halfway up my calf, how rocks get in these things is such a philisophical debate right? I get home, check, and out drops what appears to be the back of a button. Or a metal attachment back, like from a shoelace attachment.

In my 350$ boots.

Commence stomping rant with angry texting to the boyfriend who told me to pick those boots. Im checking the boots, nothing. I mean, the inside is a complete leather layer, almost even no seams let alone a metal attachment.

Now, i am confused. The magic boots can make metal????

Plan to bring them back, then, notice a small metal flower on my floor

From my pants.

Epiphany

The back of the funny metal flower looks suspiciously like the metal i found in my shoe

Ugly metal flower falls off pants, back of ugly metal flower falls DOWN pant leg and INTO magic boots. While walking. Prompts stomp fest and damaged boots fears.

Odds? Stomping for thinking it came from boots? Realization that my boots are much more magic than i thought?

About adventuresunplugged

The world is a really cool place. I moved to Zurich almost three years ago to start my PhD, and have really enjoyed the different opportunites living close to the Swiss alps offered. This blog is about some of my adventures, climbing, mountaineering, rock climbing, traveling... life in general! Wow, haven't updated this bad boy in some time! While the above is still true I have gone on to finish the PhD, so that is Dr Unplugged to you. I also have landed a job in Switzerland and will be shortly moving to Geneva. Clearly I have some adventures ahead left to explore with you guys along for company!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

